red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

fit to be tied–a quilt finish

IMG_3520

We finally had some sunshine yesterday, so in between cooking and eating Thanksgiving dinner, we managed to take a few photos of the tie quilt for my in-laws.

IMG_3530

Construction could not have been simpler: four panels, 15 x 62 inches, with 3-inch sashing and borders.

IMG_3524

For the back, I used fabric I found on the sale table (score!) and a couple of strips pieced from the leftovers on the front.

IMG_3536

For the binding, I found a subtle black/brown houndstooth in the Mizzou fabric endcap display–perfect, especially since my father-in-law graduated from Mizzou (school colors: gold and black). I like how it fits the menswear theme, picks up the black in the tie fabric and creates the sense of a frame.

By far, the greatest challenge with this quilt was the free-motion quilting (FMQ): finding the optimal machine set-up, choosing the right FMQ designs and executing them. I had never FMQ’d a quilt this size before, so wrestling with it under the machine took some effort.

IMG_3453

Fortunately I came across some timely posts, which bolstered my confidence and offered some great tips. As part of her virtual quilting bee, Amy Smart provided links to a quilt basting tutorial and a FMQ quilting tutorial, both by Kati Spencer of From A Blue Chair. The best suggestion was to move the sewing machine to the kitchen table. My sewing machine usually sits on an old, generously sized drafting table of my husband’s. The problem with this set-up is that the table is pushed against a window, which means a large quilt runs into the window as I quilt! Here at the dining table, the quilt had support and plenty of room to move.

I also found that gloves are a necessity when working with a quilt this size. They allow a greater sense of control. I looked at quilting gloves at Joann’s: $20-$30! Forget it. I stopped at Lowe’s and bought an inexpensive pair of rubber-coated gardening gloves (they will now be dedicated to the sewing room)–they worked well.

As for the actual FMQing . . . well, let’s just say I need lots more practice! I don’t think I’ll ever reach the 10,000-Hour Rule (which Malcolm Gladwell espouses in his book, Outliers) when it comes to FMQing–20 hours a week for 10 years?!–but I do recognize that with practice come experience, knowledge and improvement.

IMG_3541

In addition to the tutorials mentioned above, two books were great references: Free-Motion Quilting by Angela Walters and The Modern Quilt Workshop by Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr. I used Walters’ wavy line design for the horizontal panels and a wonky box design for the vertical borders–I figured that with these designs my “mistakes” would be less noticeable.

IMG_3452

As for the horizontal sashing, I took my cue from Lori at the Inbox Jaunt: I drew on “rails” with my chalk pencil and

IMG_3525

FMQ’d rows of simple wonky ties!

While I consider the Ringle/Weeks book a valuable resource for great modern quilt designs, what I found most helpful was their encouragement to the novice quilter:

Slow down, take your time, be willing to try a new technique, and reap the rewards of good craftsmanship. Remember, it’s supposed to be fun. . . . Remember also that, in the end, it’s your quilt, and all that matters is that you like it and that you had fun making it.

Amen!

Details: 68″ x 75″

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “fit to be tied–a quilt finish

  1. Dana Silver on said:

    Love the tie quilting !

  2. Leah Day’s web site has been useful to me. She has over 300 free motion quilting patterns. You can search them by complexity, or just find one you like. While some of the designs are too condensed or tight – you could spend the next 15 years getting an entire quilt done with some of them – her site does give me lots of ideas and then I change them to something doable for me. She used to have videos of 365 different designs that she did, but now her web site looks like a catalog to sell things. Maybe they are still available on YouTube?

  3. I love the color palette in the front of the quilt. Great finish and congrats on the FMQ

  4. Gorgeous quilt. Well done you clever girl. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Your quilted ties look great! I like the wonkiness better than if they were all perfectly the same.

  6. That’s a really neat quilt design–I like how understated it is, with the varied tones. It must feel wonderful to have finished it!

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

