red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

diagonal-seam binding closure

Since it’s a cold, rainy day, I am staying indoors and finishing up the quilt for my father-in-law. Although my free-motion quilting technique can use lots of improvement, I have making and attaching binding down cold. A few years ago, a quilting teacher shared a clever way to attach two ends of binding that’s easy and results in an exact fit–I’ve used it ever since. She learned it from a Simply Quilts episode (host Alex Anderson). Although I can’t find Alex Anderson’s directions, you can find a similar explanation here–scroll down to Method 2 under Finishing the Binding Ends. I join my binding pieces with diagonal seams, so I like that with this method the final closure seam in the binding is diagonal too.

IMG_3467-001

I overlap the two unattached ends of the binding. Then I measure and cut the overlapping piece of binding by the width of the binding strip (before it’s folded/ironed it in half). Here my binding is 2 1/4 inches wide, so I cut one end of the binding so it overlaps the other by 2 1/4 inches.

IMG_3469

I then pin these two ends on the diagonal at a right angle to each other, right sides together. . .

IMG_3470

and do a dry run on the binding finishing to ensure that (1) my future diagonal seam is oriented correctly, matching the angle of the other binding seams, (2) I haven’t twisted the binding the wrong way, and (3) it fits.

IMG_3471

I then join the two ends with a diagonal seam, marking the opposite corner for accuracy.

IMG_3472

I trim the excess triangle, press . . .

IMG_3475

pin in place and finishing sewing.

Now it’s on to hand sewing the binding in place.

If you are a visual learner (as am I), you might find this video (below) of this binding-closure technique helpful. If possible, I leave 8 to 10 inches of the binding unattached at the beginning and end (rather than the 6 inches the video instructor suggests). This way I have more room to work with the binding ends.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “diagonal-seam binding closure

  1. That’s the way I’ve learned to finish binding as well. Sew easy!

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

