red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

wonky star pillow

IMG_3301

I first saw interlocking wonky stars on Elizabeth Hartman’s Oh Fransson blog–I fell in love. Her Sparkle Punch quilt is on my very long to-make-someday list. More recently, I spied a take on this design in pillow form–inspiration. This project looked manageable for me and a perfect anniversary gift for my sister- and brother-in-law. My brother-in-law is an avid amateur astronomer, so a pillow covered in stars seems fitting.

I followed the instructions in this tutorial to make the wonky star pieces, leaving out the corners and using 2-1/2″ squares from my scrap jar. I made all the stars and nestled them together like puzzle pieces–it was fun playing with the layout.

IMG_3309

Like the inspiration pillow, I quilted it with a cross-hatch pattern, which was easy to eyeball on these finished 2″ squares. For the first time, I added binding around the edges of a pillow–an extra step, so it was more work, but I do like the look.

IMG_3302

For the back, I used fabric from my stash that suggests constellations, starry nights, suns and stars. I quilted it with a free-motion wonky box pattern, which mimics the design on the fabric. As is my wont with pillows these days, I used this technique for constructing the pillow back. I now make the top piece a little shorter than the bottom so that the contrasting strip is more centered. In this case, I made the top panel 2 inches shorter than the bottom one.

Happy anniversary, T & P!

Details: finished size–20″ x 20″

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “wonky star pillow

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

