red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

cathedral windows demystified

IMG_2218

A friend who is a violinist with the St. Louis Symphony is celebrating a significant birthday today, so I thought I’d finish a little project for her as a gift.

I pieced this mini-quilt a few years ago following a Sew Mama Sew tutorial by Elizabeth Hartman of Oh Fransson fame. It sounds weird, but you fuse the squares to lightweight fusible interfacing and then fold and sew the rows. For the beginner quilter (me!), it was very satisfying to have the seams of these bitty 2-inch squares match perfectly. At the time, I made several, and over the years I have reached up to my works-in-progress (WIP) shelf and quilted one every so often as a birthday gift for a friend. This process has allowed me to experiment with different quilting designs in a small (14-inch square) venue. “Mistakes” are hard to detect–it helps that I used no solid fabrics. I gained practice and confidence, and the gift recipients were none the wiser (I think!).

2013-06-021

Here are a couple of others I did. The one with the yellow border I quilted with an all-over free-motion curly-que–very brave of me. For the orange-bordered one, I used an Elizabeth Hartman-esque free-motion wonky-box pattern (it’s in her book)–even braver.

IMG_2213

This time around, I had fun with a new technique for me: cathedral windows/orange peel quilting. I have admired it but thought it was beyond my abilities. Then I read a blog entry by Katy of I’m a Ginger Monkey in which she confesses to being a reluctant quilter (I can certainly relate) and then explains how to do this orange peel quilting with a walking foot–cool! I had to try it out, and it worked like a charm. I am pleased to have another quilting technique in my repertoire.

IMG_2215

It looks great with the backing I chose.

IMG_2212

For the borders I used my other favorite walking-foot quilting design (explained here by Faith of Fresh Lemons Quilts). It created a little puzzle-piece pattern in the corners.

IMG_2216

I added a hanging sleeve so it can either be hung on a wall or used as a decorative piece on a table.

Happy Birthday, Wendy!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “cathedral windows demystified

  1. I like these quilting ideas. I also recently bought Charlotte War Andersen’s second book on machine quilting. She doesn’t mark either, but uses “inchie tape” to have lines to follow. I am thinking that one inch blue painter’s tape (no residue) would also work and be cheaper. No free motion stuff either. zThanks for the links. Your gift looks super.

  2. I have used blue painter’s tape as a quilting guide to do random intersecting lines (I read about doing this in Elizabeth Hartman’s books). I have done it only on mini-quilts–on a large quilt I think it’d be difficult to keep the lines straight and the tape adhered. I will check out Anderson’s book–thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

