red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

tops & bottoms

IMG_2169

The harvest yesterday was all root vegetables or “bottoms” as my family calls them.

154927[1]

When my kids were little, they were tickled by Tops & Bottoms by Janet Stevens–we read our well-worn copy over and over. In this clever trickster tale, an industrious laborer rabbit and a lazy landowner bear agree to “split” the harvest, with the rabbit on the winning end until the bear realizes he needs to do his own farm work.

Tomorrow it’ll be time to harvest some “tops”–lettuce, fennel fronds and rhubarb.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “tops & bottoms

  1. I accidentally planted beets this spring. I failed to put on my glasses while in the plant section of the local hardware store. I thought I was getting Swiss chard. Got beets instead. The green parts are looking quite lovely and I can see some beet “shoulders” right above the soil level. When are they ready to be picked? how do you tell?

    • I have never planted beets so I don’t know how one knows when to harvest them. When I plant seeds, I try to put the harvest date on the craft stick on the end of the row so I remember when I should start checking. Of course, this year we forgot to do that, so I guessed with the carrot harvest–so far, so good, tho’ they are a little undersized. What do you plan to do with your beets? I have heard that they are very good pickled.

      • I have gone absolutely nuts over roasted beets. I got quite a few this past winter in my organic produce box that gets delivered every other week. I spread them out whole on a rimmed cookie sheet, sprinkle them with olive oil and salt, roast at 350 degrees until tender. That, of course, depends on the size. 45 minutes usually is enough. If they are really large, a bit longer. When they are cool enough to handle, slip the skins off. Things that I have read suggest using a paper towel, etc. I just used my hands. They got pretty pink, but it wore off quickly. Oh, and one word of caution, they have an effect on your urinary system. I thought I had an infection or cancer or something. Turns things pink. After googling “pink urine”, I found my answer. I know – TMI.

      • Ha! Good for you, CSA-ing it. Roasting vegetables is a marvelous thing–thanks for the tip about roasting beets–will try soon. I am fond of roasted asparagus–it has an effect similar to that of beets!

  2. Thanks for pointing out this book. It looks like the type of book I want to read to my daughter and one she would enjoy.

  3. I pulled up my beets yesterday. Did I say I was impatient? There were six plants. Three had nice tennis ball sized beets and three were the size of marbles. Those three didn’t get as much sun, I think. Anyway, the tops were steamed/braised/boiled (cooked in a saucepan with a couple of tablespoons of water in the bottom) and eaten as my vegetable last night. The taste was somewhere between Swiss chard and spinach. The beets themselves were roasted and are awaiting a vinaigrette dressing for today’s lunch with salad greens, goat cheese, and sunflower seeds. Now that I know how easy they are I will plant them again from seed next spring.

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

