red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Oh Deer! a jelly roll quilt

IMG_1980

Here’s a recent finish. I assembled this quilt top back in February (I wrote about it here). I had a jelly roll of Oh Deer fabric that had been sitting around for awhile, so I found a design I liked in Jelly Roll Quilts by Pam & Nicky Lintott called Blue Lagoon. It came together in no time.

IMG_2052

I have been on an orange kick lately, so the backing is an easy pieced affair of a center 42-inchwide vertical panel of even more deer flanked by parallel 13-inchwide panels of an orange fleur de lis. Since she did such a wonderful job quilting the quilt for my daughter, I sent this one to Lynn Peterson, a talented long-arm quilter.

IMG_1984

In the border, she did a double loop-de-loop, and the interior she filled with a tri-petal design that looks like a lotus blossom or an orange being peeled–I really like it.

Delighted with how it was coming along, I made a blue binding–and then dropped the ball. Distracted by birthday and graduation gift-making, I put it aside in my sewing room, close but unfinished. I more reliably hit the finish line when I have a recipient and a deadline–since I had neither for this quilt, it was easily left undone.

When I straightened my sewing room a couple weeks ago, I pulled this quilt and the binding out. In an embarrassingly short time, I had it completed. Procrastination always makes a job seem bigger than it ends up being in reality.

IMG_2053

I still don’t have a recipient in mind, so it might just be added to the family blanket pile in the living room, which would make Grizzie very happy!

Details:
jelly roll of Oh Deer by MoMo for Moda Fabrics
Blue Lagoon design in Lintott: Jelly Roll Quilts
quilted by Lynn Peterson (you can read about Lynn and how to contact her here)
finished size: 68″ x 74″

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Oh Deer! a jelly roll quilt

  1. Sandra Louise on said:

    Love the quilt – and the kitty!

  2. Love this version of that Blue Lagoon quilt. I did the blue version earlier this year for my son who lives in Charleston, SC, on a barrier island. He loved it. I have a lot of 2 1/2 inch squares cut up so may do another one of these quilts that is more scrappy. Or, try a low contrast with blue squares and a floral I bought for that purpose. Ah, so many quilting ideas to execute. Thanks for visiting my blog recently. I’m now going to go poke about your blog.

  3. beautiful quilt! It is the kind that makes you happy just looking at it.

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

