red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

pillow talk–part 1

When I opened my boggart wardrobe this fall during my sewing room clean-up, I found a bunch of pillow forms whose original purpose I had long forgotten. Later, faced with my usual Christmas gift dilemma (what can I make fast?), I remembered those pillow forms.

vintage car pillowFor Son #1, I made this window-paned pillow with a 20-inch pillow form using a fat quarter of funky mini-car fabric by Echino, a Japanese import I bought at Fabric Nosherie. It has a wonderful linen-like texture, cool vintage car motif, and a great blue-red color. I decided a finished 5-inch square would best highlight this fabric. Framed by the tan fabric, it pops. I quilted it with straight-line skewed quilting.

IMG_1012For the pillow’s reverse side, I found this long-forgotten masculine black-and-tan checked home-dec fabric during my sewing room reorg. Once again, it’s helpful to take stock of what’s already in house.

zipper is hidden!I followed this tutorial to make the zippered back–what a brilliant design! See how the zipper is beneath the flap? It makes for a reversible pillow, hides whatever zipper installation flaws may occur, and hand-holds those of us who are zipper-phobic (me!) with the genius use of fusible tape. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Autum for sharing this technique.

The only tip I would add to Autum’s tutorial is to remember to top-stitch after sewing the zipper to the bottom half of the pillow back.

IMG_1020

I liked the zipper-backed design so much I used it again for this 16-inch pillow I made for Daughter #2 with strip scraps left over from the making of her bed quilt. I sewed the strips to make simple finished 4-inch blocks.

wavy quilting alaI quilted it with wavy lines as described by Faith at Fresh Lemons Quilts–my new favorite quilting technique. I never considered quilting waves with a walking foot–again, brilliant.

IMG_1018I used Aneela Hoey’s Little Apples turtle fabric for the back. The wavy quilting looks like wind blowing through the trees.

zigzig pillow backSee how with the zippered back it looks like another pillow? This technique is a keeper.

More pillows tomorrow . . .

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “pillow talk–part 1

  1. Dana Silver on said:

    You’re giving me inspiration !

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

