red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

happy birthday to you!

birthday cake

Many of my friends are celebrating significant birthdays these days (the kind that end in 0), so I have been making wall hangings as gifts. They are a great way for me to try new techniques in miniature form.

I was looking through some favorite blogs when I stumbled across a fabulous idea on 42quilts for a monument block. As Jenifer points out, if you use fun fabric, it looks like a birthday cake–perfect for a monumental birthday and zero calories to boot!

I used 2-inch–wide strips since I had a bunch of the red fabric already cut that width from another project, alternated the cake layers, and added sashing all the way around to frame it.

On the binding I added a bit of red. In Elizabeth Hartman’s new book, I noticed how she often added funky scrappy pieces to her binding, so I thought I’d be brave and give it a go here. It was not hard at all–it just required a little planning so the red landed where I wanted it.

birthday cake quilting

I used curlicue free-motion quilting in the cake and borders and straight-line quilting in the red, which kind of makes the cake look like it’s on fire!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “happy birthday to you!

  1. Terrrrrrific birthday cake!
    BTW, since I’m haunting your blog this morning, I thought I mention that you and I read a lot of the same books. I’ve saved your list of what you’ve been reading for ideas when I throw some new books in the Audible shopping cart. Thank you for listing them!

    • Ah, a kindred bibliophile! I’m glad the list has given you some ideas. I keep it for myself (because I’m at that age where I sometimes forget what I’ve read, or at least the titles and names of authors) and for my book club–I have taken on the role of recordkeeper/historian. My daughters, who have outgrown YA lit, now troll through it too, knowing that I usually have the same books on my shelves for them to borrow!

Leave a Reply

Butterfly Gardening

Learn how to attract butterflies to your garden

It's Not Work, It's Gardening!

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

twin fibers

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

the quilted cat

@nwquiltedcat on Instagram

Momotaro Makes

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Snoop's Theatre Thoughts

A longtime fan's look at theatre in St. Louis, MO and Beyond

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Wedding Dress Blue

Quilting and other things I love in this colorful world

Sew Me

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Simplify

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Letter from Mekelle

Lewis and Helen's Adventures in Ethiopia

Just Jude

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Entropy Always Wins

entropyalwayswinsblog.com

jmn

Creative Endeavours

Sew Mama Sew

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

quiltingquandary

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Elven Garden Quilts

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Christine Doyle

Freelance Editor + Passionate Crafter

Sew Kind Of Wonderful

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Darlington Delights

Welcome to Darlington

The Simple Seamstress

Adventures into the great unsewn.

K&S Design Girls

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

